top of page

burda wrap dress

I started October sewing with the wrap dress from last year's October Burda Magazine (#112) that I've had my eye on. It's one of those designs I wouldn't normally go for, and I'm not sure how I feel about those puff sleeves. The rest of the dress is quite good, though.

Look at the photos! I know they are terrible, but it's actually me in them and I am using a remote! Big step forward. Now I need to find a place to stand up my phone that doesn't require climbing on a chair, although, honestly, I think it looks better on my dress form and am considering just giving up on real photos.

I didn't have suitable fabric in the stash for this dress, and got this poly crepe on sale at JoAnn. It's a good weight for this dress, but all the details totally disappear. I'm not happy about the visible print repeat either, but it's most noticeable from the back and I won't see that part in day-to-day wear.

The sleeves with the inset drew me to the pattern in the first place, but I don't know. I had trouble setting them in because burda did not provide enough notches. Just one for the shoulder seam and one in the front. There was no indication that you should or should not ease the sleeve in aside from the gathered sleeve cap, and I'm pretty sure my gathering/easing is too centered, leading to bigger puffs than intended. I'm going to try wearing it with sleeves, but I predict they'll come off before too long.

recent posts
archive
tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page